14th ISTT Prize to be awarded to Dr. Elizabeth Lacy and Dr. Frank Costantini

Posted by: Thom Saunders on Tuesday, September 21, 2021


The International Society for Transgenic Technologies is delighted to announce that the 14th ISTT Prize will be jointly awarded to Dr. Elizabeth Lacy and Dr. Frank Costantini at TT2022 in Levi, Finland.

Dr. Lacy and Dr. Costantini earned their Ph.D. degrees from the California Institute of Technology in genetics and developmental biology.  They went on together to do postdoctoral work in Christopher Graham’s laboratory at the University of Oxford. In 1981, during their fellowship, they used pronuclear microinjection to produce transgenic mice and demonstrated that transgenes could be transmitted to the offspring of transgenic founders. Subsequent work demonstrated transgene expression in offspring. Their pioneering work contributed greatly to the establishment of transgenic technology as a field of endeavor. Dr. Lacy and Dr. Costantini were generous in sharing their specialized expertise in micromanipulation and co-authored the first edition of Manipulating the Mouse Embryo (also known in the field as “the Mouse Bible”) with Dr. Brigid Hogan (recipient of the Transgenic Technology Prize in 2008). From Oxford, Dr. Lacy moved to the Sloan Kettering Institute and Dr. Costantini moved to Columbia University where they study organogenesis and developmental biology in their respective laboratories.

Costantini F, Lacy E. Introduction of a rabbit beta-globin gene into the mouse germ line.  Nature. 1981 Nov 5;294(5836):92-4.

Elizabeth Lacy’s Laboratory WEB page 

Frank Costantini’s Laboratory WEB page


0 comments on "14th ISTT Prize to be awarded to Dr. Elizabeth Lacy and Dr. Frank Costantini"

Leave a Comment